Others know that we are the best. They try to copy what we do. The facts are that we are the choice for customer service. They don’t bring you a positive attitude. They don’t bring you donuts and coffee. They could care less about the weather conditions you test in. They don’t keep you hydrated. They don’t cook lunch for you. All they want is your hard earned money. You get what you pay for. If you want that Cadillac, then you may have to pay extra for it. Just remember this: You are not paying just for a certificate. You are paying for environmental experts to prepare you for inspections and assist you if you have a violation that may put you on CNN and in a court of law.
Notice: All fee payments are due on the date of your smoke school. Unpaid fees are considered past due 30 days after the training date and are subject to collection.
Classroom Only: $125 per person: The EPA recommends the classroom for all first timers and a refresher every three years. You will earn and receive a classroom certificate. No other smoke school provider issues classroom certificates.
Field Test Only: $250 per person: This is an EPA Method 9 opacity field-training and certification test. You will earn and receive an EPA Method 9 certificate which is valid nationwide for six months. I was an environmental inspector the Louisiana DEQ, and I know that it is important for you to present your certificates when the inspector is at the gate. You will receive your certificate via mail within three weeks of the testing date.
Classroom/Field Testing: $375 per person: This combines both classroom and field trainings. You will receive two certificates—one for classroom and one for field.
Nighttime Field Testing: $250 per person: The EPA does not require nor recommend nighttime certification, however, some companies require it. We offer nighttime training at our home locations, West Monroe, Louisiana and Odon, Indiana.
Federal, State and Local Government Agencies: Fee is negotiable
Family Members of Attendees: FREE to IMMEDIATE FAMILY MEMBERS (This does not apply to family members requiring certification for job requirements) Please state you are a family member upon registration
College Students: $25 per person: Full time college students will be given field and classroom training at this price (Please state that you are a college student upon registration)
Unemployed: $25 per person: Attendees who are unemployed will be given field and classroom training at this price (Please state that you are unemployed upon registration)
Multiple Attendee Discounts: Whitlow Smoke School has morning and afternoon sessions at each location to accommodate all of your employees needing Method 9 training. Please specify morning or afternoon session upon registration. If you send:
5 attendees or more: 5% discount
10 attendees or more: 10% discount
20 attendees or more: 20% discount
First Time Discount: If your company is new to Whitlow Smoke School, then you will receive a 10% discount. We want you to give Whitlow a try. The people who try us, love us. We know what good customer service means! At Whitlow most people pass the Method 9 certification test before lunch. We grade all test papers on site and you will be absolutely certain that you passed before leaving. If not, we will continue the testing until everyone passes. In the rare even that you have to leave before you pass, then you can attend any of our other locations on our schedule at no additional charge. If you have registered at one of our competitors, we will honor your payment. Just send us a copy of your paid receipt with your registration.
Home Page Training Locations by State Request a New Smoke School Location Contact US Registration Fees
Smoke Commander Stories Frequently Asked Questions Download EPA Method 9 Form Instructions for Method 9 Form
How to Prepare for Inspections Site Map for Other Information About Whitlow Smoke School